October 27, 2004
-
COSTUME: at the last moment, i decided on a different costume altogether. nothing too fancy. its not going to win the prize, but it will be fun. im going to be a CLUB KID or a CANDY RAVER. so i bought some men's pants, and some other bright colored stuff (no shortage here) hair things and wristbands. some sparkles. and im looking for a pill-like candy to give out to ppl for "2000yen a pop" so far i found one that is way too big, but it is chalky and has a K on it. with size for emphasis, that is pretty perfect. too bad i cant find NIKE ones or HEARTS. and of course *I* will supply the shirt. the green swirly one with acid trip-induced butterflies. the best $9.99 i ever spent. it even illicits complements. these are mostly because of its sheer weird ugliness im sure. but i think the ppl at the SASHA AND DIGWEED show really *did* like it. they also gave a girl who was with us a free E hit. wow. what a nice couple. ....i mean...YIKES!
SOMEONE PLEASE BE A ROLLER WAITRESS!
HOLY HELLSPAWN: just had the worst class. they re usually ok and kind of mischievous but still good-natured. today they had 3 exams before my class and they were horrible. as if the other bad class today wasnt bad enough. i kind of turned that one around by going to the several ppl playing GAMEBOY. they re idea of putting it away was playing it under the desk or stopping for 30 seconds til i walked away. and KITAHARA sensei wasnt even understanding what i was saying. it wasnt that hard. i made a survey. i want to do things they will like. so "what do you like?" music, movies, which singers, actors, sports, anime, hobbies, fairy tales, stories japanese or american. i figure we can do stuff about lyrics or what not. "if you do NOT write an answer, i will do what *I* like." i said this about 10 times. meaningful glances at the teacher did nothing. she is the only one who i have this problem with. all the others thing go quite smoothly and they my silence with japanese translation usually. request: "please translate that part. its important. they dont have to write, but if they dont, i will choose something" she nods and then says nothing. request again. slightly paraphrased. this time she translates the top of the sheet WHICH I UNDERSTOOD and then says nothing about my cloaked threat. TELL THEM THE THREAT LADY!! so i was fighting a losing battle until i turned it around and went to the kid who thrice ignored me asking him to put the GAMEBOY away. so i went in. "what game is it? do you like gameboy? show me." then he suddenly clammed up and put it away and tried the ok ok line. so i went to all the gameboy kids. there were too many. like 5!! and gameboy advance too. one kid was playing a game called PAPER PLANE where he was flying a paper plane through some danger or something. then it crashed. GE-MU O-BA. game over. sad. that is a strange game I said. and some of the more good-natured boys in the back said yes. one of them always answers "HOW ARE YOU?" with "I AM CRAZY" i take this answer as acceptable, a little strange, but creative. so i asked them what kind of games do they like. most of the gameboy kids were stunned when i said show me and they all refused. one almost took the game out and he shut the thing off. i would have just paused it and stowed it away. so between music and games i got BLACK-EYED PEAS, OZZY OSBOURNE, GnR, BEATLES, AEROSMITH, some groups i ddint know, i like movies, i like MOVE (haha) and cars, boats, and role-playing. sometimes they dont even know something in katakana is english. HELLOOO, you have an alphbet for borrowed words! and most are english!! actual a syllabary. anyway i kind of won in the end of that class. they were speaking a little english and one kid answered my questions like this: "i dont like game, i dont like music, i dont like sports." REALLY? do you like school? I LIKE SCHOOL. mind you this kid had hate in his eyes for me and his brows were shaved into a weird anime type thin slant on each side like a V. i said "what a GOOD STUDENT!!! " everyone was amused. at one point they said NOBUKO IS CRAZY. thats KITAHARAs first name. hehe. anyway. the HELLSPAWN.
so this first year class (sophomore age) on the top floor of the building (5 or 6 depending on how you look at the weird half floors) it takes forever to get up there which is good because we still leave at the beginning bell from way downstairs so i think that takes some time. they are reputed to be the worst class. now i know. throughout the class there were two kids talking and occassionally wrestling or hitting each other. there were two kids in the back talking very loudly all the time to a third cohort who sits in the first row. the first row kid is the "LETS GO TO MACDONALDs" kid. i thought we were buds man. so im mostly at the front trying to go thru the book. my JTE yasuda sensei is going around the class trying to get the conscious ones to look at the material. then the little GO MAC kid starts talking back to her and following her when she turns around. WHAT A PISS!! then the one in the back was calling out the answers to some of the questions and then later when i was checking the answers he refused to say the right thing. WHAT COLOR? MISTER JOANNA. very cute. DEATH! they were the main ASS PAIN, but there was the other wrestling pair. they were fairly contained for a while until they got into a weird tug of war/embrace over a pen or something. then i went over and said loudly HOW OLD ARE YOU? the smart in the back answers 100! WOW YOU ARE VERY OLD. back to the wrestlers. HOW OLD ARE YOU? ARE YOU MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS? ARE YOU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL STUDENTS? YOU ARE HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS!! im not supposed to discipline as an assistant, but it was too much. usually bringing attn to them and speaking english to them jolts them out of whatever they are doing. OR starts a giggling fit if they are girls.
and the last one- RUDE GIRL. she looks so sweet. i keep forgetting not to call on her. usually i dont give up on a student unless they are really having a bad time despite trying. then i at least get them to say I DONT KNOW in english. watch that tho, or everyone will just chorus idontknowidontknowidontknowidontknow to all your questions. and youll lose control entirely. she s fiddling with the keitai as usually and then i call on her. realizing my mistake immediately i had to follow thru a little. she just brushes me off without looking up or trying. "wakaran, wakaran" (short for wakaranai. meaning i dont understand. go away you stupid bitch i hate you.) so that made the class just that much better.
on the sunny side, i found out while i was reeling from how bad that class was, that i didnt have class 6th period. that was good. so that i could write this tirade on homeroom 15. bane of my existence. i even saw two of those kids in the pharmacy last night and they sort of tried to get my attention. they re curious but just bad in class. i saw them too. we can have peace dudes! this is definitely not the was i want things to go in class.
Recent Comments